Still more lazy thoughts from this one…

At the Intersection of Post & Kearney

One of my NoCal compatriots, the kind, witty and definitely unpredictable individual known as @LolosLetters, may recognize the intersection pictured above by sight alone. I recently met her in person last September in St. Louis at the mystery writers convention known as Bouchercon 2011. Why I know Lauren at all is due to a certain pursuit that involves a keyboard and the excuse of being online: blogging. The screen cap of the Google Map street view is the corner of Post and Kearney streets in San Francisco. Why there? It’s the only place I’ve been to that has a ‘100 Post’ sign on it — yeah, this is one of those milestone posts, folks. Clever I’m not as I swiped the idea from my colleague Ruth over at Flixchatter for her very enjoyable 700th Post piece on October 24th of this year.

I chose the image because the signpost is part of the background, and not the focus. It’s helpful for finding your way about (and keeping track of a number), but everything around the marker remains more consequential. Back in February, I came over to this blogging platform looking for a change (though, truth be told, I didn’t expect reaching anything close to this). It’s taken this long (or short) of a time to reach the century mark in the number of posts published on it. I hit 383 posts on my old Blogger site, not counting the guess spots I’ve contributed here and there with friend’s blogs since 2008. That I’m doing this on a fairly regular schedule still surprises me.

As I noted in this post earlier in the year, the last thing I thought I’d ever do, after graduating high school especially (oh, so long ago), was writing something about anything related to film, books, or even family at any point in the future. Yet, here I am. One of the two things* that keeps the jotting going are those who give their time reading, and sometimes commenting on, this web log. The online interaction it creates remains a positive reinforcement, no doubt. And, I’m grateful for those who either stopped by once, returned time and again, and/or interacted with me on Twitter for said narrative. So, in reaching this small blogging achievement I’d highlight those who’ve helped this all by being there (or is it here?).

Certainly, I’m obliged to those who followed me over from the first blog I started to where I now inhabit: Lauren for sure, Bev of BevsBookBeat, Chris of Celluloid Moon and now Stranded Below Nirvana, Kevin of Colonel Mortimer Will Have His Revenge, the generous Ed of Edward Copeland on Film… and more, my distant cousin Poncho from Elogios, author John Kenneth Muir from his Reflections on TV/Film blog, Kaye Barley of Meanderings and Muses, the one and only Sci-fi Fanatic, Elizabeth of Musings of an All Purpose Monkey, John D. of Nobody Move!, christian of Technicolor Dreams 70, the only Pop Culture Nerd I personally know, Patricia Abbott, Paul D. Brazill, J.D. of Radiator Heaven, Colin of Riding the High Country, my duo post colleague Rachel of Scientist Gone Wordy, Christine (who staffs the overly multi-toed cat), the wonderful Naomi of The Drowning Machine, Will of The Paxton Configuration, my contemporary Jeff of Stuff Running ‘Round My Head, Bryce of Things That Don’t Suck (how true), Herb & Laura (who travel no end), and of course Jen of Jen’s Book Thoughts for getting me started in this racket.

Not to be left out, those who became friends and regulars of this location since my move (this certainly includes those who have taken the extraordinary step of following or subscribing to my bouncing between subjects on this site — if I’ve forgotten anyone, my apologies… the fault is mine alone):

  • the aforementioned Ruth (and her contributors) of Flixchatter (who kindly allows me to chip in to her great site)
  • Novroz of Polychrome Interest (who teaches me about all things Indonesian, along with her magnanimity)
  • Ronan from Filmplicity (whose wit and philosophy is on display in whatever he writes)
  • Julian of Dirty With Class (who never fails at sparking my interest)
  • Joel of Deny Everything (who shares my uncommon passion for The Long Kiss Goodnight)
  • Tony Dayoub of Cinema Viewfinder (who covers and writes about cinema like I wish I could)
  • the individual behind themovieblog8 (their enthusiasm for film is just infectious)
  • Castor of Anomalous Material (especially for that Universally Hated Movies You Loved post)

I thank you all.

* note, this page explains the second reason.

16 Responses to “At the Intersection of Post & Kearney”

  1. rtm

    Wahoo!! Congrats on the milestone and thanks for the double shout out, how very kind. Hey at least you snapped the photo yourself, so you’re more original than I am 😀

    I’m so glad we’ve found each other’s blogs Michael. I LOVE your posts, especially the TMT series! Here’s to one hundred more!!

    Like

    Reply
    • le0pard13

      Thank you very much, Ruth. Same here about finding each other’s blogs. It’s a wonderful thing the community that can be built out in ether.

      Like

      Reply
    • le0pard13

      The honor is equally mine, kind sir. BTW, there are a couple links coming your way soon, my friend (I can say no more ;-)). Many thanks, SFF.

      Like

      Reply
  2. Lauren

    Congratulations on the milestone and thanks for all of the information and entertainment you have provided to us over those posts! It’s an honor to be mentioned at all, let alone with such a great group of folks as those noted above. Hard to believe I’m so lucky!

    Congrats, Michael, and GREAT intersection! 🙂

    Like

    Reply
    • le0pard13

      It is a great intersection and I consider myself lucky this activity has brought me connections to folks like yourself Lauren (and all the other Craisies out there). Thank you.

      Like

      Reply
  3. Rachel

    I second the sentiments above: here’s to another 100!

    I, too, feel lucky to have found and become a part of the online community you foster. I am also so inspired by the generosity you exhibit by sharing so much of yourself through your posts.

    Like

    Reply
    • le0pard13

      You’re very kind, Rachel. I know this truly since we got to meet through it all. Thank you very much (and give my thanks, too, to your husband).

      Like

      Reply
    • le0pard13

      It’s great to have crossed paths (through the help of Ruth’s fine blog), Castor. I very much enjoy the content and conversations you put out on your site. Thanks, very much.

      Like

      Reply
  4. Pop Culture Nerd

    Congrats on your milestone, Michael, and thanks for the mention. You place me in such lofty company, I hope none of them was insulted.

    That’s a clever and perfect photo to accompany this post.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Joel Burman

    Congrats on hitting hundred and your shootout might explain a slight traffic bump for me because I haven’t really been active on my blog the last two months due to work.

    Thanks again and I look forward the next 100 posts.

    Like

    Reply

Are you talkin’ to me?

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS